Derek J. Stanovsky Social Justice Fund

The Derek J. Stanovsky Social Justice Fund provides funding for students who can demonstrate a need for assistance as they work on social justice projects or research related to social justice.

McFarlane Family International Travel and Research Endowment

This endowment provides support for students currently active in Watauga Residential College (WRC) and enrolled in a university sponsored study abroad trip or semester abroad.  Students must have completed twelve semester hours of Investigations coursework, be enrolled in a research project relevant to the study abroad and be mentored by a WRC faculty member.  Administration related to this endowment is the responsibility of the College of Arts and Sciences in collaboration with Watauga Residential College.  Apply for the endowment using the McFarlane Family International Travel and Research Endowment application (DOC, 35 KB).

The McFarlane Application Deadline for Fall is April 15 of the Spring Semester.

The McFarlane Application Deadline for Spring or Summer is October 15 of the preceding Fall Semester.

O.K. Webb Endowment

The O.K. Webb endowment is named in honor of Dr. Kenneth Webb, an early proponent of Watauga College and Interdisciplinary Studies at Appalachian State.  The funding available each year varies based on investment performance, but is usually around $600.00 and may be awarded to a student at the discretion of the faculty.

Watauga Residential Scholarship

This scholarship will be awarded to a Watauga Residential College student based primarily on demonstrated need and, secondarily, on merit. Award will be made annually and is not renewable. The amount of the award will vary depending upon funds available.

College of Arts and Sciences Scholarships

Consider scholarships offered by the college. Visit the college website to see the qualifications for each scholarship offered. For more questions, contact the Dean's office at or (828) 262-3078. 

  • Sally A. Callegari Memorial Scholarship for Gender Diversity in Animal Studies
  • Drs. Joanne Smith and Don R. Brannon Scholarship for Natural Sciences
  • Richard A. Thomas Memorial Scholarship for Arts and Sciences 
  • Jonathan K. Perryman Memorial Scholarship for the Sciences
  • GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholarships
  • The Peggy Harmon Shore Pre-Health Care Professional Endowed Scholarship

More Scholarships